ETF · iShares
0JLU iShares MSCI Japan ETF
ISIN US46434G8226London Stock Exchange: 0JLUBlackRock, Inc.
- Japan & Asia Pacific
- ETF
- Distributing
Latest close
LSE$99.23
on
- Ongoing charge
- 0.49% a year
- Fund size
- £14bn
Source: TradingView, as of , at least 15 min delayed
At a glance
As of 05/10/2026, 0JLU (iShares MSCI Japan ETF, ISIN US46434G8226) closed at $99.23 on the London Stock Exchange. Its ongoing charge is 0.49% a year (about £49 on £10,000). Over the five years to 05/10/2026 its total return was +64.3%, or +28.4% after UK CPIH inflation.
Past returns
- 1 year to 05/10/2026
- +31.0%
- +26.9% after inflation (UK CPIH)
- 3 years to 05/10/2026
- +70.8%
- +54.1% after inflation (UK CPIH)
- 5 years to 05/10/2026
- +64.3%
- +28.4% after inflation (UK CPIH)
£1,000 put in five years ago would have been worth about £1,643 on 05/10/2026 — about £1,284 in today’s spending power, once price rises are taken out. Past performance is not a guide to future returns.
Returns: TradingView (delayed data). Inflation: ONS CPIH, latest month published.
How we work it out:ReturnsReturns after inflationTotal returnReal returnCPIH
Calendar-year and 12-month returns
Calendar-year returns of iShares MSCI Japan ETF in pounds (price only, income paid out not included): 2021 +2.7%, 2022 −9.1%, 2023 +11.2%, 2024 +6.8%, 2025 +11.6%; 2026 to 02/10/2026 +24.4%. Returns of iShares MSCI Japan ETF in pounds (price only, income paid out not included) over the 12 months to 30/09/2026: +22.2%; to 30/09/2025: +12.9%; to 30/09/2024: +8.5%; to 30/09/2023: +10.7%; to 30/09/2022: −16.3%.
| Year | Return | After inflation | Return shown as a bar |
|---|---|---|---|
| to | +24.4% | +21.0% | |
| +11.6% | +7.8% | ||
| +6.8% | +3.2% | ||
| +11.2% | +6.8% | ||
| −9.1% | −16.8% | ||
| +2.7% | −2.1% |
| 12 months to | Return | After inflation |
|---|---|---|
| from | +22.2% | Not available |
| from | +12.9% | +8.5% |
| from | +8.5% | +5.7% |
| from | +10.7% | +4.1% |
| from | −16.3% | −23.1% |
Source: Fundology, from recorded closes and the data vendor’s weekly price history, as of , inflation: ONS CPIH
How we work it out:Calendar-year returnsWhat a calendar-year return isAccumulating and distributing
Risk: volatility and largest fall
Volatility (annualised)
16.6%over 5 years
| 1 year | 20.1% |
|---|---|
| 3 years | 18.0% |
| 5 years | 16.6% |
Annualised from weekly returns. Higher means bumpier.
- Largest fall since October 2021
- −17.0%
- From to
- Lowest 12-month return
- −15.5%
- 12 months to
- Highest 12-month return
- +36.1%
- 12 months to
- Below its highest weekly close since October 2021
- 0.0%
- High of , latest
In words: Volatility of iShares MSCI Japan ETF in pounds, annualised from weekly returns to 02/10/2026: 20.1% over 1 year, 18.0% over 3 years, 16.6% over 5 years. Largest fall in the price of iShares MSCI Japan ETF since October 2021, in pounds: −17.0% from 05/11/2021 to 24/06/2022. The lowest 12-month return of iShares MSCI Japan ETF in pounds (price only, income paid out not included) since December 2020 was −15.5% (12 months to 16/09/2022); the highest was +36.1% (12 months to 19/06/2026). On 02/10/2026 the price of iShares MSCI Japan ETF was at its highest weekly close since October 2021, in pounds.
Source: Fundology, from recorded closes and the data vendor’s weekly price history, as of , price only — income paid out is not included
How we work it out:Risk figuresFallsVolatilityLargest fall
Charges compared with similar funds
- Ongoing charge
- 0.49%
- a year
- On £10,000
- £49
- a year, roughly
- Over five years
- £243
- of £10,000, before growth
- 84 charge less
- 0 the same
- 9 charge more
Ongoing charge of iShares MSCI Japan ETF 0.49% a year, as of 03/10/2026: 9 of the 93 other Japan and Asia Pacific share funds charge more, 0 the same and 84 less (share classes counted once).
Source: Fund ongoing charges via TradingView, as of
A lower charge is not a promise of a higher return: what the fund holds matters more. Charges are the fund’s own published ongoing charges figure.
Read more:Ongoing charge (OCF)OCF and TERFee dragHow charges add up
In plain English
iShares MSCI Japan ETF is an exchange-traded fund (ETF) from iShares, launched in 1996.
It tracks the MSCI Japan — large and medium-sized Japanese companies.
You buy and sell it through a share-dealing account or platform during stock-market hours, like a share.
Its ongoing charge is 0.49% a year — about £49 a year on every £10,000 invested, taken from the fund's value rather than billed to you.
Income from its investments is paid out to holders as cash, usually a few times a year.
Japan & Asia Pacific: Companies in Japan, Australia, Hong Kong, Singapore and the wider Pacific region.
Key facts
- Ticker
- 0JLU
- ISIN
- US46434G8226
- Provider
- iShares
- Tracks
- MSCI Japan
- Structure
- ETF
- An exchange-traded fund: bought and sold on the stock exchange through the day, like a share.
- Income
- Distributing, paid semi-annual
- Income is paid out to holders as cash, usually a few times a year.
- Ongoing charge
- 0.49% a year · about £49 on £10,000
- Fund size
- £14bn
- Launched
- Domicile
- United States
- Currency hedged
- No
- Price currency
- USD
- Category
- Japan & Asia Pacific
Price chart
Since 31/07/2026, the closing price went from $92.16 on 31/07/2026 to $99.23 on 05/10/2026 (+7.7%). The lowest close shown was $92.16 on 31/07/2026 and the highest $99.23 on 05/10/2026.
Chart: closing prices we have recorded since 31/07/2026. Price only — income paid out is not included, so the line can end below the total return above.
Source: TradingView, as of , at least 15 min delayed
Five years of prices, and after inflation
11 weekly closes, from 31/07/2026 to 05/10/2026. The same history in October 2026 pounds, adjusted with ONS CPIH inflation.
Create a free account to see the 5-year price chart and the after-inflation chart
Sign-up takes an email address. There is no card to enter and nothing to pay.
How we work it out:Prices and returnsNAV and price
Funds tracking the same index
14 funds track MSCI Japan, this one included and share classes counted once; their ongoing charges range from 0.10% to 0.49% a year (02/10/2026).
| Fund | Charge | 1 year | 3 years | 5 years |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| HSBC MSCI Japan UCITS ETFAccumulating · 0.19% a year | 0.19% | +30.7% | +41.2% | Not reported |
| HSBC MSCI Japan UCITS ETF USDDistributing · 0.12% a year | 0.12% | +30.8% | +67.4% | +62.8% |
| Invesco MSCI Japan UCITS ETFAccumulating · 0.19% a year | 0.19% | +30.7% | +68.0% | +62.8% |
| iShares MSCI Japan ETFThis fundDistributing · 0.49% a year | 0.49% | +28.9% | +67.0% | +60.8% |
| iShares MSCI Japan UCITS ETFAccumulating · 0.48% a year | 0.48% | +30.9% | +67.4% | +61.8% |
| iShares MSCI Japan UCITS ETF USD (Dist)Distributing · 0.12% a year | 0.12% | +30.9% | +67.4% | +61.4% |
| Amundi Core MSCI Japan UCITS ETF AccAccumulating · 0.12% a year | 0.12% | +28.2% | +63.7% | +60.2% |
| State Street SPDR MSCI Japan UCITS ETFAccumulating · 0.12% a year | 0.12% | +30.8% | +67.0% | +61.9% |
| UBS Core MSCI Japan UCITS ETF Capitalisation -USD-Accumulating · 0.10% a year | 0.10% | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| UBS Core MSCI Japan UCITS ETF JPY dis DistributionDistributing · 0.12% a year | 0.12% | +30.7% | +66.9% | +61.9% |
| UBS Core MSCI Japan UCITS ETF-JPY acc- CapitalisationAccumulating · 0.12% a year | 0.12% | +30.8% | +69.2% | +63.0% |
| Xtrackers MSCI Japan UCITS ETFAccumulating · 0.40% a year | 0.40% | +35.5% | +100.1% | +137.7% |
| Xtrackers MSCI Japan UCITS ETF 1D DistributionDistributing · 0.15% a year | 0.15% | +28.3% | +44.1% | Not reported |
| Xtrackers MSCI JAPAN UCITS ETF Capitalisation 1CAccumulating · 0.20% a year | 0.20% | +30.9% | +67.6% | +62.8% |
Source: TradingView reported returns and fund ongoing charges, as of
Read more:Index fundsTracking differenceHow funds are compared
Other versions of this fund
Risk and return in depth
Sharpe, Sortino and Calmar ratios
Sharpe, Sortino and Calmar ratios over 1, 3 and 5 years, from weekly returns in pounds.
With a free accountRolling returns
The full range of 243 rolling 12-month returns since December 2020, and of 144 rolling three-year returns, in pounds, with how often they were above zero.
With a free accountLargest falls and recoveries
The 3 largest falls since October 2021, in pounds, with how many weeks each took to reach its low and to recover.
With a free account
Create a free account to see the risk ratios, every rolling return and each large fall and its recovery
Sign-up takes an email address. There is no card to enter and nothing to pay.
Rank among similar funds
Rank by total return over 1, 3 and 5 years among up to 66 Japan and Asia Pacific share funds, not currency-hedged, highest first.
ProMoves compared with a similar fund
Correlation and beta of weekly returns in pounds against iShares Core MSCI World UCITS ETF, over the three years to 02/10/2026 (151 weeks).
Pro
Pro — currently by invitation
Pro includes the rank among similar funds and moves against a comparable fund
Pro is open by invitation while it is being built. There is nothing to buy. To ask about access, email [email protected].
Questions people ask
What is the ongoing charge of 0JLU?
The ongoing charge of 0JLU is 0.49% a year — about £49 a year on every £10,000 invested, taken from the fund’s value rather than billed to you. Platform and dealing fees are charged separately. Ongoing charge of iShares MSCI Japan ETF 0.49% a year, as of 03/10/2026: 9 of the 93 other Japan and Asia Pacific share funds charge more, 0 the same and 84 less (share classes counted once).
What does 0JLU track?
0JLU tracks the MSCI Japan — large and medium-sized Japanese companies.
Is 0JLU accumulating or distributing?
0JLU is distributing: income is paid out to holders as cash, usually a few times a year. It pays out semi-annual.
What is the ISIN of 0JLU?
The ISIN of 0JLU is US46434G8226. An ISIN identifies one exact share class of a fund; 0JLU is its ticker on the London Stock Exchange.
What were 0JLU’s returns in each of the last five years?
Calendar-year returns of 0JLU in pounds (price only, income paid out not included): 2021 +2.7%, 2022 −9.1%, 2023 +11.2%, 2024 +6.8%, 2025 +11.6%; 2026 to 02/10/2026 +24.4%. Past performance is not a guide to future returns.
How has 0JLU done after inflation?
Over the five years to 05/10/2026 0JLU’s total return was +64.3%, or +28.4% after UK CPIH inflation. Past performance is not a guide to future returns.
Similar funds
- SJPAiShares Core MSCI Japan IMI UCITS ETF0.12% a year · £5.0bn
- XMJPXtrackers MSCI JAPAN UCITS ETF Capitalisation 1C0.20% a year · £4.1bn
- LCJPAmundi Core MSCI Japan UCITS ETF Acc0.12% a year · £3.6bn
- 0DZWUBS Core MSCI Japan UCITS ETF-JPY acc- Capitalisation0.12% a year · £3.0bn
- IJPNiShares MSCI Japan UCITS ETF USD (Dist)0.12% a year · £3.0bn
- CPJ1iShares Core MSCI Pacific ex Japan UCITS ETF0.20% a year · £2.3bn
- VJPNVanguard FTSE Japan UCITS ETF0.10% a year · £1.9bn
- PRIJAmundi Index Solutions - Prime Japan0.08% a year · £1.8bn
Sources and dates
- Prices
- London Stock Exchange closes via TradingView, at least 15 minutes delayed, latest
- Returns
- TradingView reported returns (net asset value with income reinvested where available)
- Calendar years, risk
- Fundology, from recorded closes (weekly history from the data vendor where our record is short)
- Inflation
- ONS CPIH, latest month used August 2026
- Charges
- The fund’s ongoing charges figure, via TradingView
- Identity
- FCA Financial Instruments Reference Data System (FIRDS) and the issuer
- Fund size
- TradingView, converted to pounds at the latest ECB reference rate
Methodology:Data sourcesReturnsCategoriesAll methods
A machine-readable copy of this page: Markdown.