Skip to content
Fundology

ETF · iShares

IJPN iShares MSCI Japan UCITS ETF USD (Dist)

ISIN IE00B02KXH56London Stock Exchange: IJPNBlackRock, Inc.

Latest close

LSE

£19.37

on

Ongoing charge
0.12% a year
Fund size
£2.9bn

Source: TradingView, as of , at least 15 min delayed

At a glance

As of 30/09/2026, IJPN (iShares MSCI Japan UCITS ETF USD (Dist), ISIN IE00B02KXH56) closed at £19.37 on the London Stock Exchange. Its ongoing charge is 0.12% a year (about £12 on £10,000). Over the five years to 30/09/2026 its total return was +54.4%, or +20.7% after UK CPIH inflation.

Past returns

Total return: the change in the fund’s value with any income reinvested, after its ongoing charges. Periods to .
1 year to 30/09/2026
+26.9%
+22.9% after inflation
3 years to 30/09/2026
+61.3%
+45.5% after inflation
5 years to 30/09/2026
+54.4%
+20.7% after inflation

£1,000 put in five years ago would have been worth about £1,544 on 30/09/2026 — about £1,207 in today’s spending power, once price rises are taken out. Past performance is not a guide to future returns.

Returns: TradingView (delayed data). Inflation: ONS CPIH, latest month published.

How we work it out:ReturnsReturns after inflationTotal returnReal returnCPIH

Calendar-year and 12-month returns

Calendar-year returns of iShares MSCI Japan UCITS ETF USD (Dist) in pounds (income reinvested to 10/07/2026, price only after): 2022 −9.0%, 2023 +11.8%, 2024 +7.8%, 2025 +14.4%; 2026 to 30/09/2026 +22.4%. Returns of iShares MSCI Japan UCITS ETF USD (Dist) in pounds (income reinvested to 10/07/2026, price only after) over the 12 months to 30/09/2026: +26.9%; to 30/09/2025: +12.6%; to 30/09/2024: +9.0%; to 30/09/2023: +11.5%; to 30/09/2022: −16.5%.

Calendar-year returns of IJPN, in pounds (income reinvested to 10/07/2026, price only after — income paid out since then is not included), to 30/09/2026
YearReturnAfter inflation
to +22.4%+19.0%
+14.4%+10.5%
+7.8%+4.2%
+11.8%+7.4%
−9.0%−16.7%
Returns of IJPN over 12-month periods to 30/09/2026, in pounds (income reinvested to 10/07/2026, price only after — income paid out since then is not included)
12 months toReturnAfter inflation
from +26.9%Not available
from +12.6%+8.2%
from +9.0%+6.3%
from +11.5%+4.8%
from −16.5%−23.2%

Source: Fundology, from recorded closes, as of , inflation: ONS CPIH

How we work it out:Calendar-year returnsWhat a calendar-year return isAccumulating and distributing

Risk: volatility and largest fall

How far the price has swung and fallen. The same record the returns come from, in pounds.

Volatility (annualised)

16.2%over 5 years

Volatility, annualised from weekly returns, by period
1 year20.2%
3 years17.6%
5 years16.2%

Annualised from weekly returns. Higher means bumpier.

Largest fall since October 2021
−17.1%
From to
Lowest 12-month return
−14.8%
12 months to
Highest 12-month return
+39.6%
12 months to
Below its highest weekly close since October 2021
0.0%
High of , latest

In words: Volatility of iShares MSCI Japan UCITS ETF USD (Dist) in pounds, annualised from weekly returns to 30/09/2026: 20.2% over 1 year, 17.6% over 3 years, 16.2% over 5 years. Largest fall of iShares MSCI Japan UCITS ETF USD (Dist) since October 2021, in pounds (income reinvested to 10/07/2026, price only after): −17.1% from 12/11/2021 to 17/06/2022. The lowest 12-month return of iShares MSCI Japan UCITS ETF USD (Dist) in pounds (income reinvested to 10/07/2026, price only after) since July 2021 was −14.8% (12 months to 16/09/2022); the highest was +39.6% (12 months to 19/06/2026). On 30/09/2026 the price of iShares MSCI Japan UCITS ETF USD (Dist) was at its highest weekly close since October 2021, in pounds (income reinvested to 10/07/2026, price only after).

Source: Fundology, from recorded closes, as of , income reinvested to 10/07/2026, price only after — income paid out since then is not included

How we work it out:Risk figuresFallsVolatilityLargest fall

Charges compared with similar funds

The ongoing charge is taken from the fund’s value every day, so the returns on this page are already after it. Platform and dealing fees are charged separately.
Ongoing charge
0.12%
a year
On £10,000
£12
a year, roughly
Over five years
£60
of £10,000, before growth
Among 93 Japan and Asia Pacific share funds, share classes counted once
  • 10 charge less
  • 7 the same
  • 75 charge more

Ongoing charge of iShares MSCI Japan UCITS ETF USD (Dist) 0.12% a year, as of 01/10/2026: 75 of the 92 other Japan and Asia Pacific share funds charge more, 7 the same and 10 less (share classes counted once).

Source: Fund ongoing charges via TradingView, as of

A lower charge is not a promise of a higher return: what the fund holds matters more. Charges are the fund’s own published ongoing charges figure.

Read more:Ongoing charge (OCF)OCF and TERFee dragHow charges add up

In plain English

iShares MSCI Japan UCITS ETF USD (Dist) is an exchange-traded fund (ETF) from iShares, launched in 2004.

It tracks the MSCI Japan — large and medium-sized Japanese companies.

You buy and sell it through a share-dealing account or platform during stock-market hours, like a share.

Its ongoing charge is 0.12% a year — about £12 a year on every £10,000 invested, taken from the fund's value rather than billed to you.

Income from its investments is paid out to holders as cash, usually a few times a year.

Japan & Asia Pacific: Companies in Japan, Australia, Hong Kong, Singapore and the wider Pacific region.

Terms:ETFIndex fundUCITSAccumulating or incomeShare classISIN

Key facts

Ticker
IJPN
ISIN
IE00B02KXH56
Provider
iShares
Tracks
MSCI Japan
Structure
ETF
An exchange-traded fund: bought and sold on the stock exchange through the day, like a share.
Income
Distributing, paid semi-annual
Income is paid out to holders as cash, usually a few times a year.
Ongoing charge
0.12% a year · about £12 on £10,000
Fund size
£2.9bn
Launched
Domicile
Ireland
Can be held in
ISA and SIPP
Currency hedged
No
Price currency
Pounds (GBP)

Price chart

Closing price
£19.36+28.7% over 1 year · closing price
IJPN closing price: £15.04 on 05/10/2025, £19.36 on 30/09/2026 (+28.7%); low £15.04, high £19.36.

Over the last year, the closing price went from £15.04 on 05/10/2025 to £19.37 on 30/09/2026 (+28.8%). The lowest close shown was £15.04 on 05/10/2025 and the highest £19.37 on 30/09/2026.

Chart: closing prices we have recorded since 05/10/2025. Points up to mid-2026 have income reinvested; later ones are the price as traded, so the line is not measured the same way throughout.

Source: TradingView, as of , at least 15 min delayed

Five years of prices, and after inflation

254 weekly closes, from 26/09/2021 to 30/09/2026. The same history in September 2026 pounds, adjusted with ONS CPIH inflation.

Create a free account to see the 5-year price chart and the after-inflation chart

Sign-up takes an email address. There is no card to enter and nothing to pay.

How we work it out:Prices and returnsNAV and price

What it holds

The ten largest holdings make up 30.2% of the fund, as of .

Top 10 holdings

Top holdings of IJPN: the ten largest, as a percentage of the whole fund, as of 29/09/2026
Rank#HoldingWeight as a percentage of the fund
1Mitsubishi UFJ Financial Group83064.60%
2Toyota Motor72033.28%
3Tokyo Electron80353.07%
4Advantest68572.98%
5Sumitomo Mitsui Financial Group83162.93%
6Hitachi65012.90%
7SoftBank Group99842.69%
8Recruit60982.65%
9Sony Group67582.60%
10Kioxia285A2.47%

Source: iShares, holdings as published, as of , company pages by TradingView

Where it invests

The portfolio by sector, country and type of asset, as a share of the whole fund. Bonds, cash and positions the source does not classify are shown as they come, not guessed.

By sector

  1. Industrials23.9%
  2. Financials19.0%
  3. Information Technology18.9%
  4. Consumer Discretionary14.3%
  5. Communication Services6.9%
  6. Health Care5.2%
  7. Consumer Staples3.6%
  8. Materials3.6%
  9. Other sectors4.6%
As published by iShares, as of 29/09/2026.

By type of asset

  1. Equity99.0%
  2. Cash and money market1.0%
Added up from the holdings iShares publishes, as of 29/09/2026.

171 holdings are listed for this fund. All 171 holdings of IJPN, with the full split by sector, country and type of asset.

More of the portfolio

The fund publishes 171 holdings; the ten largest make up 30.2% of it. The fund's portfolio is also split by currency.

Create a free account to see the full holdings list and the currency, maturity and credit-quality breakdowns

Sign-up takes an email address. There is no card to enter and nothing to pay.

Holdings:Compare what it holds with another fundHoldings overlapHow overlap is measured

Funds tracking the same index

13 funds track MSCI Japan, this one included and share classes counted once; their ongoing charges range from 0.10% to 0.48% a year (30/09/2026).

13 funds that track the MSCI Japan, listed by name. Returns are the data vendor’s, in pounds, with income reinvested unless marked “price”.
Fund1 year5 years
HSBC MSCI Japan UCITS ETFAccumulating · 0.19% a year+26.5%Not reported
HSBC MSCI Japan UCITS ETF USDDistributing · 0.12% a year+26.8%+55.7%
Invesco MSCI Japan UCITS ETFAccumulating · 0.19% a year+26.5%+51.1%
iShares MSCI Japan UCITS ETFAccumulating · 0.48% a year+26.9%+54.8%
iShares MSCI Japan UCITS ETF USD (Dist)This fundDistributing · 0.12% a year+26.9%+54.4%
Amundi Core MSCI Japan UCITS ETF AccAccumulating · 0.12% a year+27.1%+56.1%
State Street SPDR MSCI Japan UCITS ETFAccumulating · 0.12% a year+27.1%+56.0%
UBS Core MSCI Japan UCITS ETF Capitalisation -USD-Accumulating · 0.10% a yearNot reportedNot reported
UBS Core MSCI Japan UCITS ETF JPY dis DistributionDistributing · 0.12% a year+27.0%+56.0%
UBS Core MSCI Japan UCITS ETF-JPY acc- CapitalisationAccumulating · 0.12% a year+26.4%+55.5%
Xtrackers MSCI Japan UCITS ETFAccumulating · 0.40% a year+30.8%+126.8%
Xtrackers MSCI Japan UCITS ETF 1D DistributionDistributing · 0.15% a year+27.2%Not reported
Xtrackers MSCI JAPAN UCITS ETF Capitalisation 1CAccumulating · 0.20% a year+26.9%+55.8%

Source: TradingView reported returns and fund ongoing charges, as of

Read more:Index fundsTracking differenceHow funds are compared

Other versions of this fund

iShares’s other share classes and funds on the MSCI Japan. They can differ in how income is paid, currency hedging and charge.

Risk and return in depth

Ratios that weigh return against its ups and downs, every rolling period rather than a few fixed ones, and each large fall with how long it took to recover.
  • Sharpe, Sortino and Calmar ratios

    Sharpe, Sortino and Calmar ratios over 1, 3 and 5 years, from weekly returns in pounds.

    With a free account
  • Rolling returns

    The full range of 218 rolling 12-month returns since July 2021, and of 114 rolling three-year returns, in pounds, with how often they were above zero.

    With a free account
  • Largest falls and recoveries

    The 3 largest falls since October 2021, in pounds, with how many weeks each took to reach its low and to recover.

    With a free account

Create a free account to see the risk ratios, every rolling return and each large fall and its recovery

Sign-up takes an email address. There is no card to enter and nothing to pay.

  • Rank among similar funds

    Rank by total return over 1, 3 and 5 years among up to 64 Japan and Asia Pacific share funds, not currency-hedged, highest first.

    Pro
  • Moves compared with a similar fund

    Correlation and beta of weekly returns in pounds against iShares Core MSCI World UCITS ETF, over the three years to 30/09/2026 (149 weeks).

    Pro

Pro — currently by invitation

Pro includes the rank among similar funds and moves against a comparable fund

Pro is open by invitation while it is being built. There is nothing to buy. To ask about access, email [email protected].

Questions people ask

What is the ongoing charge of IJPN?

The ongoing charge of IJPN is 0.12% a year — about £12 a year on every £10,000 invested, taken from the fund’s value rather than billed to you. Platform and dealing fees are charged separately. Ongoing charge of iShares MSCI Japan UCITS ETF USD (Dist) 0.12% a year, as of 01/10/2026: 75 of the 92 other Japan and Asia Pacific share funds charge more, 7 the same and 10 less (share classes counted once).

What does IJPN track?

IJPN tracks the MSCI Japan — large and medium-sized Japanese companies.

Is IJPN accumulating or distributing?

IJPN is distributing: income is paid out to holders as cash, usually a few times a year. It pays out semi-annual.

What is the ISIN of IJPN?

The ISIN of IJPN is IE00B02KXH56. An ISIN identifies one exact share class of a fund; IJPN is its ticker on the London Stock Exchange.

What were IJPN’s returns in each of the last five years?

Calendar-year returns of IJPN in pounds (income reinvested to 10/07/2026, price only after): 2022 −9.0%, 2023 +11.8%, 2024 +7.8%, 2025 +14.4%; 2026 to 30/09/2026 +22.4%. Past performance is not a guide to future returns.

How has IJPN done after inflation?

Over the five years to 30/09/2026 IJPN’s total return was +54.4%, or +20.7% after UK CPIH inflation. Past performance is not a guide to future returns.

Similar funds

More Japan and Asia Pacific share funds, largest first. Size is a fact, not a verdict.

Sources and dates

Prices
London Stock Exchange closes via TradingView, at least 15 minutes delayed, latest
Returns
TradingView reported returns (net asset value with income reinvested where available)
Calendar years, risk
Fundology, from recorded closes (weekly history from the data vendor where our record is short)
Inflation
ONS CPIH, latest month used August 2026
Charges
The fund’s ongoing charges figure, via TradingView
Holdings
iShares, as published,
Identity
FCA Financial Instruments Reference Data System (FIRDS) and the issuer
Fund size
TradingView, converted to pounds at the latest ECB reference rate

Methodology:Data sourcesReturnsCategoriesAll methods

A machine-readable copy of this page: Markdown.