ETF · HSBC
HMJA HSBC MSCI Japan UCITS ETF
ISIN IE0006RFB3X2London Stock Exchange: HMJAHSBC Holdings Plc
- Japan & Asia Pacific
- ETF
- ISA
- SIPP
- Accumulating
Latest close
LSE$65.71
on
- Ongoing charge
- 0.19% a year
- Fund size
- £13.3m
Source: TradingView, as of , at least 15 min delayed
At a glance
As of 30/09/2026, HMJA (HSBC MSCI Japan UCITS ETF, ISIN IE0006RFB3X2) closed at $65.71 on the London Stock Exchange. Its ongoing charge is 0.19% a year (about £19 on £10,000). Over the three years to 30/09/2026 its total return was +37.8%, or +24.4% after UK CPIH inflation.
Past returns
- 1 year to 30/09/2026
- +26.5%
- +22.5% after inflation (UK CPIH)
- 3 years to 30/09/2026
- +37.8%
- +24.4% after inflation (UK CPIH)
Volatility and the largest fall need a longer record of this fund’s prices than we hold so far. They appear on this page once we do.
Returns: TradingView (delayed data). Inflation: ONS CPIH, latest month published.
How we work it out:ReturnsReturns after inflationTotal returnReal returnCPIH
Charges compared with similar funds
- Ongoing charge
- 0.19%
- a year
- On £10,000
- £19
- a year, roughly
- Over five years
- £95
- of £10,000, before growth
- 36 charge less
- 5 the same
- 51 charge more
Ongoing charge of HSBC MSCI Japan UCITS ETF Accum Shs USD 0.19% a year, as of 01/10/2026: 51 of the 92 other Japan and Asia Pacific share funds charge more, 5 the same and 36 less (share classes counted once).
Source: Fund ongoing charges via TradingView, as of
A lower charge is not a promise of a higher return: what the fund holds matters more. Charges are the fund’s own published ongoing charges figure.
Read more:Ongoing charge (OCF)OCF and TERFee dragHow charges add up
In plain English
HSBC MSCI Japan UCITS ETF Accum Shs USD is an exchange-traded fund (ETF) from HSBC, launched in 2022.
It tracks the MSCI Japan — large and medium-sized Japanese companies.
You buy and sell it through a share-dealing account or platform during stock-market hours, like a share.
Its ongoing charge is 0.19% a year — about £19 a year on every £10,000 invested, taken from the fund's value rather than billed to you.
Income from its investments is reinvested inside the fund, so it shows up as a rising price rather than cash paid to you.
Japan & Asia Pacific: Companies in Japan, Australia, Hong Kong, Singapore and the wider Pacific region.
Terms:ETFIndex fundUCITSAccumulating or incomeShare classISIN
Key facts
- Ticker
- HMJA
- ISIN
- IE0006RFB3X2
- Provider
- HSBC
- Tracks
- MSCI Japan
- Structure
- ETF
- An exchange-traded fund: bought and sold on the stock exchange through the day, like a share.
- Income
- Accumulating
- Income is reinvested inside the fund, so it shows up as a rising price rather than cash paid to you.
- Ongoing charge
- 0.19% a year · about £19 on £10,000
- Fund size
- £13.3m
- Launched
- Domicile
- Ireland
- Can be held in
- ISA and SIPP
- Currency hedged
- No
- Price currency
- USD
- Category
- Japan & Asia Pacific
Price chart
Since 30/07/2026, the closing price went from $59.88 on 30/07/2026 to $65.71 on 30/09/2026 (+9.7%). The lowest close shown was $59.88 on 30/07/2026 and the highest $65.71 on 30/09/2026.
Chart: closing prices we have recorded since 30/07/2026.
Source: TradingView, as of , at least 15 min delayed
Five years of prices, and after inflation
6 weekly closes, from 30/07/2026 to 30/09/2026. The same history in September 2026 pounds, adjusted with ONS CPIH inflation.
Create a free account to see the 5-year price chart and the after-inflation chart
Sign-up takes an email address. There is no card to enter and nothing to pay.
How we work it out:Prices and returnsNAV and price
What it holds
Top 10 holdings
| Rank# | Holding | Weight as a percentage of the fund |
|---|---|---|
| 1 | Capital Cash Ctrl | 18.22% |
| 2 | Mitsubishi UFJ Financial Group8306 | 4.70% |
| 3 | Toyota Motor7203 | 3.36% |
| 4 | Sumitomo Mitsui Financial Group8316 | 2.98% |
| 5 | Tokyo Electron8035 | 2.97% |
| 6 | Advantest6857 | 2.95% |
| 7 | Hitachi6501 | 2.90% |
| 8 | SoftBank Group9984 | 2.70% |
| 9 | Recruit6098 | 2.56% |
| 10 | Sony Group6758 | 2.55% |
Source: HSBC, holdings as published, as of , company pages by TradingView
173 holdings are listed for this fund. All 173 holdings of HMJA, with the full split by sector, country and type of asset.
More of the portfolio
The fund publishes 173 holdings; the ten largest make up 45.9% of it. The fund's portfolio is also split by currency.
Create a free account to see the full holdings list and the currency, maturity and credit-quality breakdowns
Sign-up takes an email address. There is no card to enter and nothing to pay.
Sector split
As a share of the whole fund. The source classifies 95.9% of it by sector; bonds, cash and positions it cannot match are left out rather than guessed.
- Finance19.9%
- Producer Manufacturing16.1%
- Electronic Technology14.6%
- Consumer Durables9.3%
- Health Technology5.6%
- Communications5.2%
- Distribution Services5.2%
- Technology Services5.0%
- Other classified sectors15.1%
Holdings:Compare what it holds with another fundHoldings overlapHow overlap is measured
Funds tracking the same index
13 funds track MSCI Japan, this one included and share classes counted once; their ongoing charges range from 0.10% to 0.48% a year (30/09/2026).
| Fund | 1 year | 5 years |
|---|---|---|
| HSBC MSCI Japan UCITS ETFThis fundAccumulating · 0.19% a year | +26.5% | Not reported |
| HSBC MSCI Japan UCITS ETF USDDistributing · 0.12% a year | +26.8% | +55.7% |
| Invesco MSCI Japan UCITS ETFAccumulating · 0.19% a year | +26.5% | +51.1% |
| iShares MSCI Japan UCITS ETFAccumulating · 0.48% a year | +26.9% | +54.8% |
| iShares MSCI Japan UCITS ETF USD (Dist)Distributing · 0.12% a year | +26.9% | +54.4% |
| Amundi Core MSCI Japan UCITS ETF AccAccumulating · 0.12% a year | +27.1% | +56.1% |
| State Street SPDR MSCI Japan UCITS ETFAccumulating · 0.12% a year | +27.1% | +56.0% |
| UBS Core MSCI Japan UCITS ETF Capitalisation -USD-Accumulating · 0.10% a year | Not reported | Not reported |
| UBS Core MSCI Japan UCITS ETF JPY dis DistributionDistributing · 0.12% a year | +27.0% | +56.0% |
| UBS Core MSCI Japan UCITS ETF-JPY acc- CapitalisationAccumulating · 0.12% a year | +26.4% | +55.5% |
| Xtrackers MSCI Japan UCITS ETFAccumulating · 0.40% a year | +30.8% | +126.8% |
| Xtrackers MSCI Japan UCITS ETF 1D DistributionDistributing · 0.15% a year | +27.2% | Not reported |
| Xtrackers MSCI JAPAN UCITS ETF Capitalisation 1CAccumulating · 0.20% a year | +26.9% | +55.8% |
Source: TradingView reported returns and fund ongoing charges, as of
Read more:Index fundsTracking differenceHow funds are compared
Other versions of this fund
Risk and return in depth
Rank among similar funds
Rank by total return over 1 and 3 years among up to 64 Japan and Asia Pacific share funds, not currency-hedged, highest first.
Pro
Pro — currently by invitation
Pro includes the rank among similar funds
Pro is open by invitation while it is being built. There is nothing to buy. To ask about access, email [email protected].
Questions people ask
What is the ongoing charge of HMJA?
The ongoing charge of HMJA is 0.19% a year — about £19 a year on every £10,000 invested, taken from the fund’s value rather than billed to you. Platform and dealing fees are charged separately. Ongoing charge of HSBC MSCI Japan UCITS ETF Accum Shs USD 0.19% a year, as of 01/10/2026: 51 of the 92 other Japan and Asia Pacific share funds charge more, 5 the same and 36 less (share classes counted once).
What does HMJA track?
HMJA tracks the MSCI Japan — large and medium-sized Japanese companies.
Is HMJA accumulating or distributing?
HMJA is accumulating: income is reinvested inside the fund, so it shows up as a rising price rather than cash paid to you.
What is the ISIN of HMJA?
The ISIN of HMJA is IE0006RFB3X2. An ISIN identifies one exact share class of a fund; HMJA is its ticker on the London Stock Exchange.
How has HMJA done after inflation?
Over the three years to 30/09/2026 HMJA’s total return was +37.8%, or +24.4% after UK CPIH inflation. Past performance is not a guide to future returns.
Similar funds
- SJPAiShares Core MSCI Japan IMI UCITS ETF0.12% a year · £4.8bn
- XMJPXtrackers MSCI JAPAN UCITS ETF Capitalisation 1C0.20% a year · £4.0bn
- LCJPAmundi Core MSCI Japan UCITS ETF Acc0.12% a year · £3.5bn
- 0DZWUBS Core MSCI Japan UCITS ETF-JPY acc- Capitalisation0.12% a year · £3.0bn
- IJPNiShares MSCI Japan UCITS ETF USD (Dist)0.12% a year · £2.9bn
- CPJ1iShares Core MSCI Pacific ex Japan UCITS ETF0.20% a year · £2.3bn
- VJPNVanguard FTSE Japan UCITS ETF0.10% a year · £1.9bn
- PRIJAmundi Index Solutions - Prime Japan0.08% a year · £1.8bn
Sources and dates
- Prices
- London Stock Exchange closes via TradingView, at least 15 minutes delayed, latest
- Returns
- TradingView reported returns (net asset value with income reinvested where available)
- Inflation
- ONS CPIH, latest month published
- Charges
- The fund’s ongoing charges figure, via TradingView
- Holdings
- HSBC, as published,
- Identity
- FCA Financial Instruments Reference Data System (FIRDS) and the issuer
- Fund size
- TradingView, converted to pounds at the latest ECB reference rate
Methodology:Data sourcesReturnsCategoriesAll methods
A machine-readable copy of this page: Markdown.