ETF · Amundi
GILS Amundi Core UK Government Bond Dist Distribution
ISIN LU1407892592London Stock Exchange: GILSSAS Rue la Boétie
- Government bonds
- ETF
- ISA
- SIPP
- Distributing
Latest close
LSE£4.95
on
- Ongoing charge
- 0.05% a year
- Fund size
- £1.1bn
Source: TradingView, as of , at least 15 min delayed
At a glance
As of 30/09/2026, GILS (Amundi Core UK Government Bond Dist Distribution, ISIN LU1407892592) closed at £4.95 on the London Stock Exchange. Its ongoing charge is 0.05% a year (about £5 on £10,000). Over the five years to 30/09/2026 its total return was −20.5%, or −37.8% after UK CPIH inflation.
Past returns
- 1 year to 30/09/2026
- +0.7%
- −2.5% after inflation (UK CPIH)
- 3 years to 30/09/2026
- +7.1%
- −3.4% after inflation (UK CPIH)
- 5 years to 30/09/2026
- −20.5%
- −37.8% after inflation (UK CPIH)
£1,000 put in five years ago would have been worth about £795 on 30/09/2026 — about £622 in today’s spending power, once price rises are taken out. Past performance is not a guide to future returns.
Returns: TradingView (delayed data). Inflation: ONS CPIH, latest month published.
How we work it out:ReturnsReturns after inflationTotal returnReal returnCPIH
Calendar-year and 12-month returns
Calendar-year returns of Multi Units Luxembourg SICAV - Amundi Core UK Government Bond Dist Distribution in pounds (price only, income paid out not included): 2022 −25.5%, 2023 +1.5%, 2024 −6.2%, 2025 +2.1%; 2026 to 30/09/2026 −2.3%. Returns of Multi Units Luxembourg SICAV - Amundi Core UK Government Bond Dist Distribution in pounds (price only, income paid out not included) over the 12 months to 30/09/2026: −2.2%; to 30/09/2025: −4.3%; to 30/09/2024: +5.8%; to 30/09/2023: −3.4%; to 30/09/2022: −26.2%.
| Year | Return | After inflation | Return shown as a bar |
|---|---|---|---|
| to | −2.3% | −5.1% | |
| +2.1% | −1.4% | ||
| −6.2% | −9.4% | ||
| +1.5% | −2.5% | ||
| −25.5% | −31.8% |
| 12 months to | Return | After inflation |
|---|---|---|
| from | −2.2% | Not available |
| from | −4.3% | −8.0% |
| from | +5.8% | +3.1% |
| from | −3.4% | −9.2% |
| from | −26.2% | −32.2% |
Source: Fundology, from recorded closes and the data vendor’s weekly price history, as of , inflation: ONS CPIH
How we work it out:Calendar-year returnsWhat a calendar-year return isAccumulating and distributing
Risk: volatility and largest fall
Volatility (annualised)
9.5%over 5 years
| 1 year | 6.8% |
|---|---|
| 3 years | 6.8% |
| 5 years | 9.5% |
Annualised from weekly returns. Higher means bumpier.
- Largest fall since October 2021
- −33.0%
- From to
- Lowest 12-month return
- −29.3%
- 12 months to
- Highest 12-month return
- +7.4%
- 12 months to
- Below its highest weekly close since October 2021
- 31.9%
- High of , latest
In words: Volatility of Multi Units Luxembourg SICAV - Amundi Core UK Government Bond Dist Distribution in pounds, annualised from weekly returns to 30/09/2026: 6.8% over 1 year, 6.8% over 3 years, 9.5% over 5 years. Largest fall in the price of Multi Units Luxembourg SICAV - Amundi Core UK Government Bond Dist Distribution since October 2021, in pounds: −33.0% from 03/12/2021 to 14/10/2022. The lowest 12-month return of Multi Units Luxembourg SICAV - Amundi Core UK Government Bond Dist Distribution in pounds (price only, income paid out not included) since January 2021 was −29.3% (12 months to 14/10/2022); the highest was +7.4% (12 months to 16/08/2024). On 30/09/2026 the price of Multi Units Luxembourg SICAV - Amundi Core UK Government Bond Dist Distribution was 31.9% below its highest weekly close since October 2021 (03/12/2021), in pounds.
Source: Fundology, from recorded closes and the data vendor’s weekly price history, as of , price only — income paid out is not included
How we work it out:Risk figuresFallsVolatilityLargest fall
Charges compared with similar funds
- Ongoing charge
- 0.05%
- a year
- On £10,000
- £5
- a year, roughly
- Over five years
- £25
- of £10,000, before growth
- 0 charge less
- 5 the same
- 269 charge more
Ongoing charge of Multi Units Luxembourg SICAV - Amundi Core UK Government Bond Dist Distribution 0.05% a year, as of 01/10/2026: 269 of the 274 other government bond funds charge more, 5 the same and 0 less (share classes counted once).
Source: Fund ongoing charges via TradingView, as of
A lower charge is not a promise of a higher return: what the fund holds matters more. Charges are the fund’s own published ongoing charges figure.
Read more:Ongoing charge (OCF)OCF and TERFee dragHow charges add up
In plain English
Multi Units Luxembourg SICAV - Amundi Core UK Government Bond Dist Distribution is an exchange-traded fund (ETF) from Amundi, launched in 2016.
It tracks the Markit iBoxx GBP Gilts Mid Price TCA Net Total Return Index - GBP — UK government bonds (gilts).
You buy and sell it through a share-dealing account or platform during stock-market hours, like a share.
Its ongoing charge is 0.05% a year — about £5 a year on every £10,000 invested, taken from the fund's value rather than billed to you.
Income from its investments is paid out to holders as cash, usually a few times a year.
Government bonds: Loans to governments, such as UK gilts and US Treasuries. They pay interest; their prices move when interest rates change.
Key facts
- Ticker
- GILS
- ISIN
- LU1407892592
- Provider
- Amundi
- Tracks
- Markit iBoxx GBP Gilts Mid Price TCA Net Total Return Index - GBP
- Structure
- ETF
- An exchange-traded fund: bought and sold on the stock exchange through the day, like a share.
- Income
- Distributing, paid annual
- Income is paid out to holders as cash, usually a few times a year.
- Ongoing charge
- 0.05% a year · about £5 on £10,000
- Fund size
- £1.1bn
- Launched
- Domicile
- Luxembourg
- Can be held in
- ISA and SIPP
- Currency hedged
- No
- Price currency
- Pounds (GBP)
- Category
- Government bonds
Price chart
Since 31/07/2026, the closing price went from £4.99 on 31/07/2026 to £4.95 on 30/09/2026 (−0.9%). The lowest close shown was £4.95 on 30/09/2026 and the highest £5.04 on 07/08/2026.
Chart: closing prices we have recorded since 31/07/2026. Price only — income paid out is not included, so the line can end below the total return above.
Source: TradingView, as of , at least 15 min delayed
Five years of prices, and after inflation
10 weekly closes, from 31/07/2026 to 30/09/2026. The same history in September 2026 pounds, adjusted with ONS CPIH inflation.
Create a free account to see the 5-year price chart and the after-inflation chart
Sign-up takes an email address. There is no card to enter and nothing to pay.
How we work it out:Prices and returnsNAV and price
What it holds
Top 10 holdings
| Rank# | Holding | Weight as a percentage of the fund |
|---|---|---|
| 1 | UNITED KINGDO TSY 4.375% 07Mar28 | 2.57% |
| 2 | UNITED KINGDO TSY 4.75% 07Dec30 | 2.53% |
| 3 | UNITED KINGDO TSY 4.25% 07Jun32 | 2.46% |
| 4 | UNITED KINGDO TSY 4.375% 07Mar30 | 2.44% |
| 5 | UNITED KINGDO TSY 4% 22May29 | 2.28% |
| 6 | UNITED KINGDO TSY 1.25% 22Jul27 | 2.24% |
| 7 | UNITED KINGDO TSY 4.75% 22Oct35 | 2.24% |
| 8 | UNITED KINGDO TSY 0.875% 22Oct29 | 2.18% |
| 9 | UNITED KINGDO TSY 4.5% 07Mar35 | 2.12% |
| 10 | UNITED KINGDO TSY 0.125% 31Jan28 | 2.11% |
Source: Amundi, holdings as published, as of , company pages by TradingView
71 holdings are listed for this fund. All 71 holdings of GILS, with the full split by sector, country and type of asset.
More of the portfolio
The fund publishes 71 holdings; the ten largest make up 23.2% of it. The fund's portfolio is also split by currency, maturity and credit quality.
Create a free account to see the full holdings list and the currency, maturity and credit-quality breakdowns
Sign-up takes an email address. There is no card to enter and nothing to pay.
Holdings:Compare what it holds with another fundHoldings overlapHow overlap is measured
Funds tracking the same index
2 funds track Markit iBoxx GBP Gilts Mid Price TCA Net Total Return Index - GBP, this one included and share classes counted once; their ongoing charges range from 0.05% to 0.07% a year (30/09/2026).
| Fund | 1 year | 5 years |
|---|---|---|
| Amundi Core UK Government Bond Capitalisation UCITS ETF HedgedAccumulating · Currency hedged · 0.07% a year | Not reported | Not reported |
| Amundi Core UK Government Bond Dist DistributionThis fundDistributing · 0.05% a year | +0.7% | −20.5% |
Source: TradingView reported returns and fund ongoing charges, as of
Read more:Index fundsTracking differenceHow funds are compared
Other versions of this fund
Risk and return in depth
Sharpe, Sortino and Calmar ratios
Sharpe, Sortino and Calmar ratios over 1, 3 and 5 years, from weekly returns in pounds.
With a free accountRolling returns
The full range of 248 rolling 12-month returns since January 2021, and of 144 rolling three-year returns, in pounds, with how often they were above zero.
With a free accountLargest falls and recoveries
The largest fall since October 2021, in pounds, with how many weeks it took to reach its low and to recover.
With a free account
Create a free account to see the risk ratios, every rolling return and each large fall and its recovery
Sign-up takes an email address. There is no card to enter and nothing to pay.
Moves compared with a similar fund
Correlation and beta of weekly returns in pounds against iShares Core UK Gilts UCITS ETF, over the three years to 30/09/2026 (146 weeks).
Pro
Pro — currently by invitation
Pro includes moves against a comparable fund
Pro is open by invitation while it is being built. There is nothing to buy. To ask about access, email [email protected].
Questions people ask
What is the ongoing charge of GILS?
The ongoing charge of GILS is 0.05% a year — about £5 a year on every £10,000 invested, taken from the fund’s value rather than billed to you. Platform and dealing fees are charged separately. Ongoing charge of Multi Units Luxembourg SICAV - Amundi Core UK Government Bond Dist Distribution 0.05% a year, as of 01/10/2026: 269 of the 274 other government bond funds charge more, 5 the same and 0 less (share classes counted once).
What does GILS track?
GILS tracks the Markit iBoxx GBP Gilts Mid Price TCA Net Total Return Index - GBP — UK government bonds (gilts).
Is GILS accumulating or distributing?
GILS is distributing: income is paid out to holders as cash, usually a few times a year. It pays out annual.
What is the ISIN of GILS?
The ISIN of GILS is LU1407892592. An ISIN identifies one exact share class of a fund; GILS is its ticker on the London Stock Exchange.
What were GILS’s returns in each of the last five years?
Calendar-year returns of GILS in pounds (price only, income paid out not included): 2022 −25.5%, 2023 +1.5%, 2024 −6.2%, 2025 +2.1%; 2026 to 30/09/2026 −2.3%. Past performance is not a guide to future returns.
How has GILS done after inflation?
Over the five years to 30/09/2026 GILS’s total return was −20.5%, or −37.8% after UK CPIH inflation. Past performance is not a guide to future returns.
Similar funds
- CU71iShares USD Treasury Bond 3-7yr UCITS ETF0.07% a year · £4.6bn
- IBTAiShares USD Treasury Bond 1-3yr UCITS ETF0.07% a year · £4.3bn
- SEGAiShares Core EUR Govt Bond UCITS ETF0.07% a year · £3.4bn
- CBU0iShares USD Treasury Bond 7-10yr UCITS ETF USD (Acc) USD0.07% a year · £2.8bn
- SEMLiShares J.P. Morgan EM Local Govt Bond UCITS ETF0.50% a year · £2.7bn
- VETAVanguard EUR Eurozone Government Bond UCITS ETF0.11% a year · £2.6bn
- IGLTiShares Core UK Gilts UCITS ETF0.07% a year · £2.5bn
- 0DMLXtrackers II Eurozone Government Bond 1-3 UCITS ETF0.24% a year · £2.3bn
Sources and dates
- Prices
- London Stock Exchange closes via TradingView, at least 15 minutes delayed, latest
- Returns
- TradingView reported returns (net asset value with income reinvested where available)
- Calendar years, risk
- Fundology, from recorded closes (weekly history from the data vendor where our record is short)
- Inflation
- ONS CPIH, latest month used August 2026
- Charges
- The fund’s ongoing charges figure, via TradingView
- Holdings
- Amundi, as published,
- Identity
- FCA Financial Instruments Reference Data System (FIRDS) and the issuer
- Fund size
- TradingView, converted to pounds at the latest ECB reference rate
Methodology:Data sourcesReturnsCategoriesAll methods
A machine-readable copy of this page: Markdown.